Figments of My Imagination

Weirdtober 1 ~ 13th floor

Courtesy of Pexels

I worked on the 13th floor for twenty-five years. Our employees always joked it was an unlucky number. I commented that many buildings didn’t have a thirteenth floor.

After lunch on Friday the 13th, I rode the elevator up to our floor. When the door opened, I couldn’t remember which way to go. I checked the stairwell to be sure I was on the right floor, and the sign indicated I was on the correct level. I walked around the floor past the restrooms and water fountains but couldn’t remember where my office was. There was no one in sight. 

I felt slightly disoriented and got back on the elevator to go downstairs. I bought a cup of coffee and took a big gulp. This time I got in the other elevator with two attorneys and said hello. They spoke a greeting to me, so I knew I wasn’t dreaming. My coffee was hot and tasted good which I’ve never noticed in a dream before either.

I got off again at the 13th floor, turned left, walked past the break room to my office and opened the door. A mystery prankster had covered my monitor with fake spider webs and plastic fanged teeth were sitting in my chair. 

None of my coworkers admitted the prank, and I never told anyone about the elevator ride to the strange 13th floor. Guess it only existed in my imagination.

© 2021 All Rights Reserved
Based on true events

Leave a comment